About Us

Who is the Academy of Oncologic Physical Therapy?

Our association consists of physical therapists and physical therapist assistants managing the musculoskeletal, neuromuscular, integumentary and cardiopulmonary rehabilitative needs of patients resulting from the treatment of active cancer disease. This encompasses acute secondary sequelae of cancer treatments such as surgery, radiation therapy, and chemotherapy as well as long-term secondary sequelae of treatments and palliative care.

The Mission and Vision of the Academy of Oncologic PT

The mission of the Academy of Oncologic PT is to advance physical therapist practice for persons affected by cancer and chronic illness by maximizing movement and wellness across the lifespan.

Our vision is to optimize movement and quality of life of individuals impacted by cancer and chronic illness. We envision a society where:

  • Physical therapists are recognized as practitioners of choice in cancer and HIV rehabilitation.
  • Patients have unencumbered access to physical therapist services.
  • An abundance of rigorous research informs clinical practice.
  • Entry-level practitioners possess a foundational knowledge of oncology rehabilitation.
  • Physical therapists are valued as integral partners of the inter-professional oncologic team.
  • Culturally diverse physical therapists in cancer and HIV rehabilitation meet the needs of patients in a culturally affirming manner.
  • Board-certified physical therapists expand the body of knowledge and advance oncologic practice.
  • The Academy collaborates with inter-professional coalitions to advance best practice in cancer and HIV rehabilitation throughout the lifespan.

Executive Board

G Stephen Morris
G Stephen Morris

President

Wingate University
Wingate, NC
s.morris@wingate.edu
Chris Wilson
Chris Wilson

Vice President

Oakland University
Chesterfield, MI
cwilsondpt@gmail.com
Steve Wechsler
Steve Wechsler

Secretary

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY
sbwechsler1@gmail.com
Nancy Paddison
Nancy Paddison

Treasurer

MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX
npadd@yahoo.com
Bryan Spinelli, PT, PhD

Member At Large

Providence, RI
bryan.a.spinelli@gmail.com
Emil Berengut, PT, DPT, MSW, Board-Certified Orthopedic Clinical Specialist

Nominating & Awards

eberengut@gmail.com
Laura Sheridan, PT, DPT

Nominating Committee Chair

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY
laurasheridanPT@gmail.com
Lorna Griffin, PT

Nominating & Awards

MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX
lmgriffin1@mdanderson.org

Special Interest Groups

Sara Pullen, DPT, MPH

HIV Disease

Emory University
Atlanta, GA
sara.pullen@emory.edu

Barbara Wagner, PT, DPT, MHA

Hospice & Palliative Care

barbara.wagner@scranton.edu

Lesli Bell, PT

Lymphedema

Winooski, VT
lesli.belldpt@gmail.com

Earllaine Croarkin

Oncologic Balance & Falls

earllaine@verizon.net

Hallie Lenker, PT

Pediatric

Hallie.lenker@gmail.com

Committees

Education

Frannie Westlake, PT, DPT, NCS
fwestpt12@yahoo.com

CSM Programming
Jet Lee, PT, PhD (2:15-17)
jetlee@sfsu.edu

Regional Courses
Taryne Thomas, PT (17-19)
tela@mdanderson.org

Specialization
Specialty Council Chair
Nicole Stout, PT, DPT (17-20)
nlstout90@gmail.com

Research

Shana Erin Harrington, PT, PhD (15-17)
Columbia, SC
heel1998@aol.com

Melissa Eden, PT, DPT
eden.melissa@mayo.edu

Mary Fisher, PT, MSPT, PhD
mary.fisher@udayton.edu

Mary Lou Galantino, PT, PhD, MSCE
galantinoml@stockton.edu

Laura Gilchrist, PT, PhD
lsgilchrist@stkate.edu

Elizabeth Sue Hile, PT, PhD
Elizabeth-Hile@ouhsc.edu

David M. Kietrys, PT, PhD
kietrydm@shrp.rutgers.edu

Tori Marchese, PT, PhD
vmarchese@som.umaryland.edu

Kiri Ness, PT, PhD
Kiri.ness@stjude.org

Bryan Spinelli, PT, MS
bryan.a.spinelli@gmail.com

Editor, Rehabilitation Oncology
Cindy Pfalzer, PT, PhD, FAPTA (15-19)
cpfalzer@umich.edu

Senior Editor
Mary Fisher, PT, MSPT, PhD
(18-19)
mary.fisher@udayton.edu

Outreach

Steve Wechsler, PT, DPT, Board-Certified Neurologic Clinical Specialist
Chair
sbwechsler1@gmail.com

Publications
Maggie Rinehart-Ayres, PT, PhD (17-19)
Ambler, PA
Maggie_ayres@yahoo.com

Social Media
Stephen Wechsler, PT, DPT, Board-Certified Neurologic Clinical Specialist (16-18)
wechsles@mskcc.org

WCPT
Jackie Drouin, PT, PhD
drouin@oakland.edu

MEMBER ENGAGEMENT/LEADERSHIP DEVELOPMENT

Tiffany Kendig, PT, DPT, MPH (2:17-19)
New York, NY
tiffanykendig@gmail.com

Advocacy

Bryan Spinelli, PT, PhD (17-19)
Cranston, RI
bspinelli@lifespan.org

Legislative & Payment
Jena Colon, PT (16-18)
jennyc419@aol.com

APTA Board Liaison
Carol Oddo, PT, MS
cmo18@att.net

Student Assembly Liaison
Jillian Tanych
Aptasa.nc2@gmail.com

Executive Director
Suzie Callan
1055 N Fairfax Street, Suite 205
Alexandria, VA 22314
800-765-7848, ext. 7107
703-738-1606 F
oncology@apta.org

Why should you join the Academy of Oncologic PT?

As a partner of the Academy of Oncologic PT, you will become eligible for a variety of benefits such as:

Evidence-based research, an electronic subscription to "Rehabilitation Oncology", free SIG membership options, access to members only pages, and more.

Clinical Research Grants

Are you up on the latest Oncology Physical Therapy research or are your just starting out? New and experienced Academy members can make valuable contributions.

Clinical Internship Opportunities

This list of clinical sites is provided as a service to Academy Members.

Host a Regional Course in Your Area

The Academy of Oncologic PT, APTA has several course offerings looking for partners to host. The host facility will be chosen based on the guarantee that they can draw a minimum of 20 registrants.

Academy Member Awards

Know of a PT/PTA professional needing recognition? Here is the place to find out about our Member Awards.

Join the Academy ListServ

The Academy's General Listerv is a very productive messaging system for answering your practice questions. In addition, we maintain specialized listservs for our special interest groups.

Resource Guide for Specialization

This document, prepared by the Academy of Oncologic Physical Therapy, is designed to help you in your preparation for the specialist examination.

Booth Signup

Sign up for an available volunteer slot at the Academy booth in the CSM Exhibit Hall! You must be logged in to sign up.

OncoReads

OncoReads allows you to earn Continuing Education Units (CEUs) from the comfort of your own home or office. Begin earning today!

Sign Up to Become a Volunteer

This Academy survives and thrives on it's exceptional line of volunteers. From experienced to clincians; if you want to be a leader, we have a position.

Look Inside the Oncology Toolbox

What's in your Physical Therapy Bag of Tricks? Find more and contribute some.