About Us

Who is the Oncology Section?

Our association consists of physical therapists and physical therapist assistants managing the musculoskeletal, neuromuscular, integumentary and cardiopulmonary rehabilitative needs of patients resulting from the treatment of active cancer disease. This encompasses acute secondary sequelae of cancer treatments such as surgery, radiation therapy, and chemotherapy as well as long-term secondary sequelae of treatments and palliative care.

The Mission and Vision of the Oncology Section

The mission of the Oncology Section is to advance physical therapist practice for persons affected by cancer and chronic illness by maximizing movement and wellness across the lifespan.

Our vision is to optimize movement and quality of life of individuals impacted by cancer and chronic illness. We envision a society where:

  • Physical therapists are recognized as practitioners of choice in cancer and HIV rehabilitation.
  • Patients have unencumbered access to physical therapist services.
  • An abundance of rigorous research informs clinical practice.
  • Entry-level practitioners possess a foundational knowledge of oncology rehabilitation.
  • Physical therapists are valued as integral partners of the inter-professional oncologic team.
  • Culturally diverse physical therapists in cancer and HIV rehabilitation meet the needs of patients in a culturally affirming manner.
  • Board-certified physical therapists expand the body of knowledge and advance oncologic practice.
  • The Section collaborates with inter-professional coalitions to advance best practice in cancer and HIV rehabilitation throughout the lifespan.

Executive Board

G Stephen Morris
G Stephen Morris

President

Wingate University
Wingate, NC
704/233-8358 W
s.morris@wingate.edu

Amy Litterini
Amy Litterini

Vice President

University of New England
Portland, ME
207/221-4586 W
alitterini@une.edu

Mary Fisher
Mary Fisher

Secretary

University of Dayton
Dayton, OH
937/229-5600 W
mary.fisher@udayton.edu

Nancy Paddison
Nancy Paddison

Treasurer

MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX
281/450-2799 C
npadd@yahoo.com

Bryan Spinelli, PT, PhD

Member At Large

Rhode Island Hospital
Providence, RI
617/512-5480 C
bryan.a.spinelli@gmail.com

Sharlynn Tuohy, PT, MBA, Chair

Nominating & Awards

Hospital for Special Surgery
New York, NY
646/888-1728 C
tuohys@hss.edu

Laura Sheridan, PT, DPT

Nominating & Awards

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
New York, NY
516/841-5618 C
laurasheridanPT@gmail.com

Lorna Griffin, PT

Nominating & Awards

MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX
312/259-2294 H
lmgriffin1@mdanderson.org

Special Interest Groups

Sara Pullen, DPT, MPH

HIV Disease

Emory University
Atlanta, GA
404/712-5112 W
sara.pullen@emory.edu

Chris Wilson, PT, DScPT

Hospice & Palliative Care

Oakland University
Rochester, MI
586/871-4211 C
cwilsondpt@yahoo.com

Lesli Bell, PT

Lymphedema

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
New York, NY
516/841-5618 C
laurasheridanPT@gmail.com

Susan Miale, PT, DPT

Pediatric

Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY
631/632-5132 W
susan.miale@stonybrook.edu

Committees

Education

Scot Sawyer, PT, DPT (17-19)
sawyer@campbell.edu

CSM Programming
Jet Lee, PT, PhD (2:15-17)
jetlee@sfsu.edu

Regional Courses
Taryne Thomas, PT (17-19)
tela@mdanderson.org

Specialization
Specialty Council Chair
Nicole Stout, PT, DPT (17-20)
nlstout90@gmail.com

Research

Shana Erin Harrington, PT, PhD (15-17)
Columbia, SC
803/777-9112 W
heel1998@aol.com

Melissa Eden, PT, DPT
eden.melissa@mayo.edu

Mary Fisher, PT, MSPT, PhD
mary.fisher@udayton.edu

Mary Lou Galantino, PT, PhD, MSCE
galantinoml@stockton.edu

Laura Gilchrist, PT, PhD
lsgilchrist@stkate.edu

Elizabeth Sue Hile, PT, PhD
Elizabeth-Hile@ouhsc.edu

David M. Kietrys, PT, PhD
kietrydm@shrp.rutgers.edu

Tori Marchese, PT, PhD
vmarchese@som.umaryland.edu

Kiri Ness, PT, PhD
Kiri.ness@stjude.org

Bryan Spinelli, PT, MS
bryan.a.spinelli@gmail.com

Editor, Rehabilitation Oncology
Cindy Pfalzer, PT, PhD, FAPTA (15-19)
cpfalzer@umich.edu

Outreach
Mary Fisher, PT, MSPT, PhD, Chair
mary.fisher@udayton.edu

Public Relations
Mary Calys, PT
mcalys@gmail.com

Publications
Maggie Rinehart-Ayres, PT, PhD (17-19)
Ambler, PA
215/542-8860 H
Maggie_ayres@yahoo.com

Social Media
Stephen Wechsler, PT, DPT (16-18)
wechsles@mskcc.org

WCPT
Jackie Drouin, PT, PhD
drouin@oakland.edu

MEMBER ENGAGEMENT/LEADERSHIP DEVELOPMENT

Tiffany Kendig, PT, DPT, MPH (2:17-19)
New York, NY
tiffanykendig@gmail.com

Advocacy

Bryan Spinelli, PT, PhD (17-19)
Providence, RI
617/512-5480 C
bspinelli@lifespan.org

Legislative & Payment
Jena Colon, PT (16-18)
jennyc419@aol.com

APTA Board Liaison
Carol Oddo, PT, MS
cmo18@att.net

Student Assembly Liaison
Jillian Tanych
Aptasa.nc2@gmail.com

Executive Director
Suzie Callan
1055 N Fairfax Street, Suite 205
Alexandria, VA 22314
800-765-7848, ext. 7107
703-738-1606 F
oncology@apta.org

Why should you join the Oncology Section?

As a partner of the Oncology Section, you will become eligible for a variety of benefits such as:

Evidence-based research, an electronic subscription to "Rehabilitation Oncology", free SIG membership options, access to members only pages, and more.

Clinical Research Grants

Are you up on the latest Oncology Physical Therapy research or are your just starting out? New and experienced Section members can make valuable contributions.

Clinical Internship Opportunities

This list of clinical sites is provided as a service to Oncology Section Members.

Host a Regional Course in Your Area

The Oncology Section, APTA has several course offerings looking for partners to host. The host facility will be chosen based on the guarantee that they can draw a minimum of 20 registrants.

Oncology Section Member Awards

Know of a PT/PTA professional needing recognition? Here is the place to find out about our Member Awards.

Booth Signup

Sign up for an available volunteer slot at the Academy booth in the CSM Exhibit Hall

Sign Up to Become a Volunteer

This Section survives and thrives on it's exceptional line of volunteers. From experienced to clincians; if you want to be a leader, we have a position.

Look Inside the Oncology Toolbox

What's in your Physical Therapy Bag of Tricks? Find more and contribute some.